Growing Apologist

Becoming a Defender of Truth

Ave Maria!

on October 12, 2011

I am just an itty bitty Catholic.  I went through confirmation three years ago.  And while I had a great eight month class (called Rite for Catholic Initiation for Adults) that gave a high level overview of Christianity and Catholicism, I really had no idea of why I became a Catholic.  It had something to do with the mass and the Eucharist.  I was Protestant and deeply enthralled and in love with Jesus.  Jesus was there, in the mass, in the Eucharist and that’s what I desperately wanted.

But my conversion, the mass and the Eucharist is a totally different matter.  The point is that the reason I didn’t know why I became Catholic is that I did not believe in organized religion (it was corrupt); I did not believe in the papacy (that was just an old man who is hungry for power and control (forgive me, Father, I do not believe this now)); I did not believe in praying to the Saints (that was idolatry worship); I did not believe in the validity of the traditions (Catholics just did what they did because that is what they always have done); and most of all, I did not believe that the Virgin Mary deserved the high honor that Catholics gave her.

I became Catholic anyways, because there was Jesus, my Lord, my Savior, beckoning me to Him, and I will never forget the true joy and peace that enveloped me when I first took communion, every time I take communion.  And that is why I am Catholic.  All of that other stuff, well I’m still learning and Jesus is teaching me, one thing at a time.

All of this just to say– This month is the so-called month of the Rosary, declared by Pope Benedict VXI.  The Rosary, a litany of prayers passed from Mary to the children of Fatima.  And a great starting point for me to learn more about the faith that I follow.  This month I’m going to post on the history, the meaning, a guide and more on the Rosary so that maybe together, Catholics and non-Catholics alike, we can learn God’s intention for the Rosary.

 

The month of October is called the month of the Rosary. This is a “spiritual intonation,” so to speak, provided by the liturgical memorial of Our Lady of the Rosary, which is celebrated on October 7. We are thus invited to let ourselves be guided by Mary in this ancient and ever new prayer, which is especially dear to her because it leads directly to Jesus, contemplated in his mysteries of salvation: joyous, luminous, sorrowful and glorious. In the footsteps of the venerable John Paul II (cf. Apostolic Letter, Rosarium Virginis Mariae), I would like to recall that the Rosary is a biblical prayer, completely interwoven with Sacred Scripture. It is a prayer of the heart in which the repetition of the “Hail Mary” orients one’s thought and affection toward Christ, and thus one confidently supplicates his Mother and ours. It is a prayer that aids meditation on the Word of God and is likened to Eucharistic communion on the model of Mary, who carries in her heart all Jesus did and said and his presence itself.

– from Pope Benedict XVI’s Angelus message, October 10, 2010

-Source-

5 responses to “Ave Maria!

  1. I’m interested in learning more about this. I chose to be a non denominational Christian and do not know a lot about Catholicism. And boy do I know about God and Jesus calling upon you! I keep trying to find more ways to be involved with my church and faith. However, I find it difficult in general to live a Christian lifestyle because of say, road rage, other people and well, society as a whole. Remembering to be a vessel for Him is key – especially when I lose patience or faith in humanity!

    • Pamalogist says:

      I am so glad that you are interested! I’m so excited to talk to others about these things, although I am hardly a theologian and am learning too. You are not alone at all in your struggles to live the christian life. I am so competitive in nature–I will be the best, mwahaha! — that I tend to get this “I am holier then thou” mentality without even realizing what I’m doing. But thank God for God eh? Jesus is there to cover our flaws and to help us become better. 😉

  2. […] a continuation from my earlier posts titled Ave Maria! which introduced this series on the Holy Rosary and Ave Maria! Part 1 which explained at a high […]

  3. […] Ave Maria! — Introductory to this series of posts […]

  4. […] promised in the introductory post titled Ave Maria!, here is the first post on what the Rosary is.  Over the next few weeks, I plan to explore the […]

Join the Discussion-- Leave a Comment!

