Growing Apologist

Becoming a Defender of Truth

Runner’s Knee and Runner’s World

on November 4, 2011

Runner's World

For most of my running life, I have had issues with Runner’s Knee, pain in my knees caused by my forward muscles being stronger than my side muscles in my legs.  Knee injuries is a common problem among runners, but is preventable and treatable in many cases with strength work.  A lucky few have the body type that allows them to only run and stay injury free.  However, most people (like me) make the mistake of not incorporating strength exercises into their workouts and eventually wind up with an injury usually in the knees, hips or calves.  Runner’s World magazine has excellent information on injury prevention, stretches and strengthening exercises.  Here is one on the knees.

3 responses to “Runner’s Knee and Runner’s World

  1. Oooohh thanks for the link I’ve been looking for more information on knee injuries!

    I’ve started a new blog about running and I’m looking for feedback. If you have a minute, please feel free to check it out and let me know what you think:
    http://www.thetortoiseruns.wordpress.com

  2. […] Runner’s Knee and Runner’s World (growingapologist.wordpress.com) Share this:LinkedInStumbleUponTwitterFacebookDiggRedditTumblrEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. 1 Comment by hshawjr on December 16, 2011  •  Permalink Posted in Reflection, Running, Running Goals Tagged Reflection, Running, too much too soon, training too hard, Veteran Runnah […]

Join the Discussion-- Leave a Comment!

