Growing Apologist

Becoming a Defender of Truth

Anima Christi

on November 9, 2011

This is my favorite prayer, called Anima Christi or Soul of Christ.  If you would like more information, Catholic Culture has a spiel on it.

Soul of Christ, sanctify me.

Body of Christ, save me.

Blood of Christ, inebriate me.

Water from the side of Christ, wash me.

Passion of Christ, strengthen me.

O good Jesus, hear me.

Within Thy wounds hide me.

Suffer me not to be separated from Thee.

From the malicious enemy defend me.

In the hour of death call me,

And bid me come unto Thee.

That with Thy saints I may praise Thee.

For ever and ever. Amen.

Jesus Carrying the Cross. Illustration by El G...

7 responses to “Anima Christi

  1. therightwritehaven says:

    Personally, my most favourite prayer of all Catholic prayers is the one to Saint Francis of Assisi. It goes like this:

    “Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
    Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
    where there is injury,pardon;
    where there is doubt, faith;
    where there is despair, hope;
    where there is darkness, light;
    and where there is sadness, joy.

    O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek
    to be consoled as to console;
    to be understood as to understand;
    to be loved as to love.
    For it is in giving that we receive;
    it is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
    and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. Amen ”

    But in any case, everybody has his or her own style of praying. Sometimes, when we’re at a loss for words, we resort to pre-written prayers and prayer cards instead.

    But when we’re feeling upbeat and happy about our day, we’ll usually do a short reflection and thank the Lord for that day, and for so many more to come.

    Anyway, interesting blog you have (: Glad that I could drop by and visit. God bless!

    • Pamalogist says:

      Ahh yes that is a great one too! Thanks for sharing and for expanding on prayer. I never really encountered pre-written prayers before and sometimes it seems like that is all Catholics pray, but we do in fact spontaneously pray, whether we are happy or sad. The pre-written prayers sometimes help us to better articulate what we are feeling. I’m glad that you enjoy my blog and that you do visit! Please keep commenting, your insight is wonderful! God bless you too. 🙂

  2. […] Anima Christi (growingapologist.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Very nice Christian Blog. I appreciate your time and effort on posting this material and words.

  4. Very nice Catholic Blog. I appreciate your time and effort on posting this material and words.

Join the Discussion-- Leave a Comment!

