Growing Apologist

Becoming a Defender of Truth

Facebook… Oh My…

on December 10, 2011

I might have changed my mind about social media.  In case you were wondering, I’m not very enthusiastic about Facebook, My Space, Twitter, Digg it, etc.  It’s just so… disconnectedly social.  That may seem like an odd combination of words, so let me explain.

An example of the share buttons common to many...

So often I hear something along these lines on the Christian/Catholic radio stations that I listen to:  “Young people now days don’t know how to hold face-to-face conversations anymore.  They always just send these text messages and Facebook statuses, but then when they see each other, they don’t know what to say. If you have something to tell me, call me.  Don’t text me.”  While I enthusiastically text all of my friends, I have never really understood the great attraction to the other social media outlets and feel much like the person above about it.

I’ve been thinking about getting my own domain name for my blog.  As part of that research, I’ve also been looking into how to make a successful blog.  After all, the whole point is to have people read the stuff I post.  The big tip is getting the word out about the blog after one has a established quality content.  After visiting other successful blogs, I saw their Twitter and Facebook buttons and found fan pages for them on Facebook.

With much mumbling, I retract my original idea.  There is a use for Facebook.  That use is to spread the word of God.

facebook

Facebook users:  Please click HERE to visit the fan page for this blog and ‘Like’ it.  Thank you!

Join the Discussion-- Leave a Comment!

